In My Grave

I’m cold, dark and dirty.

But I know no one can see me.

Taking time to straighten out,

Pretty up for the world around.

 

Pretend I will, for the world’s sake,

Show some love to hide my hate.

Laugh like the rest, maybe more.

Live like the books taught us how.

 

Soon I get to be one of them,

Part of the gang, a real shot at fame.

Living the life I detest,

Hoping for that chance to tap out.

 

Someday, I’d keep saying.

Looking for the escape to be me.

But it comes too late,

I think now, kicking in my grave.

6 thoughts on “In My Grave

Leave a Reply

